SWAT Team live-action training, train Rowan officers

I’ve included this article in my “highlight reel” because it was the best experience I’ve had as a journalist. For this article, my editor handed me a press release and said “Be there at 10:30.”

I didn’t know what I was walking into.

I showed up, talked to SWAT Sergeant Mike Fitzgibbon, and before I knew it I was outfitted in full head-to-toe bullet proof gear running behind trainees as SWAT members disguised as assailants fired at us relentlessly.

I got shot; it stung; but wow, did I get the best color for a feature story.. My editors bumped it to the front page and I had numerous people contact me about it.

It was totally worth the welt on my shoulder.
swat

Excerpt:
“Officers clad in bulletproof vests and protective gear with weapons in hand searched room by room, leaving no door unopened and no closet unchecked.

“We got a phone call claiming shots have been fired and screams were heard, and that’s about all we know. Move quickly and carefully and head in,” police signaled.

Eerie silence haunted the hallways of the dormitory until a door banged open in front of the officers, with two assailants jumping out. Officers could be heard yelling, “Drop your weapons!” as they moved in on the perpetrators.” …..

Link to the article: SWAT Team live-action training, train Rowan officers

swat

Leave a Reply

